PDA

View Full Version : What is the difference?

Hovering Sniper
06-01-2013, 10:22 AM
Yesterday I journeyed to the gun shop to purchase brass, bullets and primers for my new Savage 12 BR in 6mm Norma. I wanted to get the best stuff, so I went with Lapua brass, Berger 105 Target VLD, and Remington Benchrest primers (they were all out of CCI). I fully get why Lapua brass and Berger bullets are considered the best, but my question is the primers. What is the difference between Benchrest primers and regular primers, I mean besides the near 50% premium price I paid? Does it really make a difference? And if so, what? Are regular primers inferior?

Thanks

stangfish
06-01-2013, 12:09 PM
Not that long ago BR primers were only about 10 dollar premium. Now that 50 percent of the adult population has a rifle and everything is about accuracy the price has gone up.

I am no expert on this but some things that I consider when looking for accuracy with regards to primers. Powders respond differently to amount of energy provided by a primer. Consistency is critical as well as the amount of energy a primer provides to ignite the powder. In long range shooting this is amplified. Temperatures add another dimension...what works when it is hot may not work so well when it is cold. Volume of powder needs appropriate primer to burn the powder evenly.

acemisser
06-02-2013, 03:56 PM
after years of shooting and trying different primers,etc...I see no difference in accuracy when using the bench rest primers
over the standard ones..you will have to be the judge.Buy a few of each if possible and try them to see if there is a big
difference.Like he said,sometimes the temp. will have a huge effect..

big honkin jeep
06-02-2013, 05:25 PM