PDA

View Full Version : Trimming Cases Question??.

Predator53
05-10-2013, 07:33 PM
I just started reloading and am doing pretty good....but there's a question,i'd like to ask...is there really a difference if the cases are 5 thousand longer...my cases should be 2.035...but i forgot to trim down 2 of them and primers are set in the cases...2.040...their both at...I'm loading 243..95 gr Ballastic Nosler...38 grains of 4350...i'm setting the OAL at 2.650...I'm also useing CCI 200 primers.....Predator53:confused:

foxx
05-10-2013, 09:51 PM
I am pretty new to handloading, too, but if it were me I would just set those two aside for "foulers" and not worry about it. Next time make sure they are all within +/- .001 or so.

fgw_in_fla
05-10-2013, 10:01 PM
It shouldn't hurt anything, if that's your worry. Worse case - those that are longer / shorted MAY show some difference in accuracy. Personally, I've never really tried testing the difference however, longer neck, more friction to release the bullet, changes in ballistics, blah, blah, blah....

I make it a point to cut all cases to the same length. If for some reason or other I come up with a few that are short, they go in the plinking brass bucket. To be used another time when accuracy is not so critical.

Happy reloading.

jb6.5
05-10-2013, 11:48 PM
Wont hurt a thing, not enough differents to worry about.

IronworksTactical
05-11-2013, 06:55 AM
It shouldn't hurt anything, if that's your worry. Worse case - those that are longer / shorted MAY show some difference in accuracy. Personally, I've never really tried testing the difference however, longer neck, more friction to release the bullet, changes in ballistics, blah, blah, blah....

I make it a point to cut all cases to the same length. If for some reason or other I come up with a few that are short, they go in the plinking brass bucket. To be used another time when accuracy is not so critical.

Happy reloading.

This.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Predator53