PDA

View Full Version : My new Savage Rifle

500 Stroker
04-18-2013, 06:25 PM
I am new to the Savage world.
I am a 30 year plus hunter of larger game and do my own hand loading.
I recently had a hankeren to shoot at longer distances say out to 800 yards.
So I purchased a Savage 111LRH in 6.5 Creedmoor
My objective is to do some long range paper punching out to 800 yards and use this rifle to take thin skinned large game out to about 500 yards.
Can anyone who knows this rifle give me some general pointers on ammo, scope rail, rings etc.
Did I jump off a cliff or just hit my head hard?:o
Thanks in Advance

J.Baker
04-18-2013, 07:31 PM
Welcome to the sickness!

Regarding a scope rail and rings there are a number of good options. My two preferences are as follows:

EGW picatinny rail topped with Burris Signature Zee rings
DNZ Products Game Seeker 1-pc base/ring setup

As far as ammo goes I can't help ya as I don't have a 6.5 Creedmore.

500 Stroker
04-23-2013, 02:27 PM
Welcome to the sickness!

Regarding a scope rail and rings there are a number of good options. My two preferences are as follows:

EGW picatinny rail topped with Burris Signature Zee rings
DNZ Products Game Seeker 1-pc base/ring setup

As far as ammo goes I can't help ya as I don't have a 6.5 Creedmore.

Hay Thanks for the come back and the info, I will check them out.
How about the rest of you big time Savage shooters I could have gotten more response at the corner gas station.

Brent
04-23-2013, 03:23 PM
Guess people are out shooting instead of thinking about shooting.