PDA

View Full Version : Savage stocks interchangeable?

Kevlak
04-14-2013, 10:00 PM
Hello everyone,

First off, I'm new to savage shooters. I had a quick question if any one had info that would be great. I have a savage 114 left hand long action with accutrigger and a detachable mag. I busted the stock and looking for a replacement, I have tried boyds and Richards for a replacement but they don't make them in left hand. I've heard maybe I could use a 111 stock instead? Or maybe someone know where I can pick one up, I also live in Canada so I'd need the company or person to ship here, as I said before any info would be great!

Thanks,
Kevin

bootsmcguire
04-14-2013, 10:31 PM
Any Left handed Long action stock will fit, the only thing you need to determine is if you have a Staggerfeed (mag box stays attached to the action when removed from stock) or a Centerfeed (mag stays in stock when action is removed from stock).110,111,112,114, and 116 are all basically the same stock fit, so if it lists for any of those numbers and has a spacing of 5.062", you should be good. If you run out of options, you can fit a RH stock to your LH action by cutting the notch for the bolt handle to fit into. All the inletting should be otherwise the same. Now some stocks may have a RH cant to them, so you'll have to check that out but many don't. Just a thought incase you can't find a lefty anywhere up there.

Kevlak
04-14-2013, 11:08 PM
Oh wow, I do have a centerfed detachable mag, so in other words I can order a 111 stock in a left handed version from boyds and it will work on my 114?

squirrelsniper
04-14-2013, 11:40 PM
Other than the obvious left-hand requirement, the stock just has to meet three criteria; long action, centerfeed, detachable mag. Other than that, the 110/111/112/114/116 stocks are interchangeable.

bootsmcguire
04-15-2013, 12:29 AM