PDA

View Full Version : .223 ammo questions...help!

buffres
04-12-2013, 07:19 PM
Just bought a new .223 savage axis and since this is a "big bore" for me...I'm used to 22s so the ammo thing is kind of confusing and I could use a little clearification. Yes, I'm a real novice but willing to learn from people with experience....I'm teachable!

Since I'm going to varmint hunt ...groundhogs, etc. the gun shop sold me 40 grn .223 rounds.

Now I find out rounds a hard to find (an understatement) here's the questions.

1) Since its' a bolt action can I shoot 5.56? The factory guys say only that "savage does not recommend that round" for the .223. The local gun shops say "since its' a bolt action it shouldn't be a problem".

2) What about the grain? I bought some 55 grn ( 2 boxes..one 5.56 and one .223). The factory says only 69 grn...that in their words "the 40 grn won't go anywhere".

3) Why is the term "full metal jacket" important?

4) Is this ammo thing something new or what is driving it? I was amazed when I went to buy more rounds. I can't find enough rounds to sight the thing in!

Sorry for all the questions...thanks for the help in advance.

bootsmcguire
04-12-2013, 08:08 PM
1) It is not recommended to shoot 5.56 in a 223 chambered gun due to the 5.56 ammo being loaded to higher pressures. Some people do it and are still around to talk about it, but its just not a good idea.

2) 55gr is kind of the "standard" weight bullet for 223. You can go heavier for more energy at longer distances, or lighter for faster and flatter trajectories. For most general shooting with the 223 the 50 or 55gr bullets are a decent balance at most reasonable distances.

3) Full Metal Jacket or FMJ means that the bullet is totally encased in a copper jacket. There is no hollow point or balitic tip to get the bullet to upset and expand. So an FMJ basically just punches a hole and keeps on going.