PDA

View Full Version : Brand New Axis w/ Stainless barrel -- Rust isssue, or somethign else?

ecksavage
01-28-2013, 10:23 PM
Hi all

I am new to bolt action rifles & stainless steel barrels, heard great things about Savage rifles so I picked up one two days ago at Cabela's. So here's my issue, everything on this gun is pristine, except when I went to clean it, I notice what appears to be rust inside the bolt chamber. Anyhow, there were orange / red-ish spots all throughout the chamber, some dark, some light in color, keep in mind this is all stainless steel so I was a bit surprised by this.

Here is where it gets fun. I've cleaned rust off "blued" guns before, it always wipes off orange. This would not wipe off at all with oil and a rag, nothing showing on the rag, so I took some oil & 0000 steel wool to it and it started to come off but still, never any orange color on my rag, just "black" and "gray". If I really look close, I can see some discoloration where the spots used to be, hardly noticeable, but I am just perplexed. There are a few spots that I can't reach so if it's not rust, I'll leave it be but if it is, I want to get everything clean.

So is this come kind of burned-in residue from the CNC process? Or is this actually rust that acts a bit differently due to this being stainless?

Anyhow, can't wait to take this out and shoot it but I would love to hear your thoughts. Thanks

PS. next time I will bring a flashlight to the store and look a bit closer before I take it home... ;)

82boy
01-29-2013, 12:08 AM
I believe what your seeing is paint/ink residue from the proof load. The proof loads are colored so that they are identified as such, and the one I have seen was red.

jpdown
01-29-2013, 04:27 PM