PDA

View Full Version : Let's Talk .223 Brass

Pages : [1] 2

ShowMeShooter
01-24-2013, 01:10 AM
Forgive me for the new guys questions here. I'm new to reloading for accuracy. I used to mix headstamps and load hunting ammo, as long as it was MOA I was happy, and the coyotes didn't seem to care. Now, I have this new found interest in the Factory Hunter class for score they are shooting at the Benchrest Club of St. Louis. I am planning on shooting my .223 Savage. So in preparation I have tumbled nearly all the brass I have. (1 gallon zip-loc stuffed full) SO here I am at the coffee table sorting out this brass by head stamp. When the question occurred to me. I wonder which of these will give me the best results. I figure there really isn't a cut and dry correct answer to this question without testing, but I'm just looking for opinions here hoping to save some headache. So far I have PMC, R-P, Frontier, FC, LC, Win, and some that has unknown marking with 5.56. There is about twice as much PMC as anything else. Is PMC quality brass?

So what is you favorite headstamp?

stomp442
01-24-2013, 01:28 AM
The most important thing to worry about is case volume. Full length size and trim each case then weigh each case separately and record the empty weight, then fill with water and weigh again. Subtract the full weight from the empty weight and that will give you the volume of each case. Separate the cases into groups that weigh out within .1 grain and load those for accuracy. Get your self a large medicine dropper to fill the cases with water and use a credit card to scrape off the excess so that the water is even with the case mouth.

ShowMeShooter
01-24-2013, 01:36 AM
What do you use to plug the primer hole for this? Old primers? I've already knocked the primers out of all these cases.

stomp442
01-24-2013, 01:42 AM
Yes old primers are the ticket.

ShowMeShooter
01-24-2013, 02:10 AM