PDA

View Full Version : Savage Axis Help

Icyminnesota
12-28-2012, 01:03 PM
Just got a Savage Axis .223. From what I have read great rifle. But looking for a higher capacity mag other then 4. Anyone know where to get one. I seen a guy RatMag custom make mags but not for .223 from what I have read. Putting a Center Point 4x16 40mm scope on it. Should be a great shooter after I get it dialed in. Just want a larger clip. Any help or tips on this gun would be great. Thanks

sharpshooter
12-29-2012, 12:27 AM
If you want more than 4, put another round in it. It will hold 5.

Icyminnesota
12-29-2012, 12:33 AM
Well I was thinking of more than just one round. Would like 8 or 10 rounds. Thanks

mattm0812
12-29-2012, 12:36 AM
Delete

Icyminnesota
12-29-2012, 01:00 AM
I am new to this a little. What is a BAR magazine and a DBM? Thanks and Sorry for the question.

mattm0812
12-29-2012, 03:27 AM
I am new to this a little. What is a BAR magazine and a DBM? Thanks and Sorry for the question.

Nevermind,

Disregard what I said.

sixonetonoffun
12-29-2012, 09:00 AM
Icyminnesota
BAR Browning Automatic Rifle
DBM Detachable Box Magazine

From what Gmac (Gunsmith who shares an interest in Axis rifles) says it would be easiest to use a M1a/Mini 14 type of mag because it is center feed already and as pointed out in another thread you will have to add a special latch but that is all. Expensive and not cost effective to convert to a RatMag. Also the plastic mag latch isn't designed to hold the extra weight.

On the other hand just buy an extra mag 2x5=10 but the accuracy falls off once the barrel heats up because it is a lightweight hunting barrel. Intended to make only a few shots at a time. Most accurate shot placement would require an 8 min interval between shots. Plenty of time to swap mags.