PDA

View Full Version : Savage 116 .300 WM

Stick&String
12-17-2012, 11:37 PM
Hi guys,
I have a question for you guys and was hoping you guys would be able to help me....

I just acquired a Stainless model 116 in .300 WM. It does not have the accutrigger and only has 30 rounds down the tube. My problem is I am a DIY type of guy (im a heavy duty diesel mechanic) and would like to build my wife a rife for this upcoming season....

I would like it to be chambered in 7mm-08
Shorter then normal Barrel
Light as possible

My question is, would I be able to use the rifle I just picked up, and if so, what parts would I need to purchase? I already have the tools needed...

-Barrel (make, length, contour)
-Bolt Face
-Stock
-Rifle Basix Trigger

Thanks guys
Nick

drybean
12-17-2012, 11:46 PM
probley every thing but the bolt face from Northland shooters supply

drybean

thirty06
12-18-2012, 07:08 AM
Plus you'll need a 06 - 270 mag box and follower to make it a repeater.

jerkin
12-18-2012, 09:10 AM
Jim doesn't have any 7mm-08 barrels either, at least not in the 9.5 twist. I called him about one a few weeks ago. OP, before you spend all that money to rechamber your 300wm take a look at the new Lady Hunter. It has the 20" barrel instead of the normal 22", accutrigger, detachable magazine, only weighs 6lbs and has a special stock cut for the ladies. I looked at one for my wife and they are really nice. If you figure what you could sell your current rifle for and the price of the parts to swap calibers you could probably get into one of these cheaper and customize it however you want. Click on "specialty series" at this link to check them out. http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/models/

Stick&String
12-18-2012, 10:55 PM
what brand parts do you guys recommend?
Short Barrel
Mag box and follower
Bolt Face

1983Weatherby
12-18-2012, 11:16 PM