PDA

View Full Version : gun mod question. plz help

srice425
12-11-2012, 09:11 PM
hey guys, i am new to the savage platform and have been doing some searching, but all my results are fairly outdated. just got a 10 fp in .308. i love the gun, but id like to grab a different stock. it is based on a centerfeed mag and has a 24 inch bbl. i know that i dont want the weight of a choate stock and dont really like their bulk. i will be taking the gun hunting as well as range shooting. i was curious what my options were? i dont want a super light one that will not absorb any recoil but, like i said, the choate was too heavy. 7 lbs i believe.

basically im looking for:
cut back vert style grip if possible
stock weight around 2-4 lbs
unfinished or finished doesnt matter as ill be painting it anyway.

can you plz help point me in the right direction (best deal?)

glad to be apart of the forums.

srice425
12-11-2012, 11:14 PM
anyone?

John Model 10
12-12-2012, 12:52 AM
I believe the Choate tactical stock is just over 4.5 pounds. Not sure where you got the 7lbs. from. In any case, check out Bell and Carlson for ready made stocks and Stockade, as well, for a cheaper, custom option (then there's always McMillan and Manners, but they aren't exactly cheap). If you have the centerfeed, your action screws should be the 4.4" spacing, so be sure to order accordingly.

Best of luck,

John

ellobo
12-12-2012, 12:58 AM
At least look at Boyds. I like the Prairy Hunter style for hunting. They have them in walnut and laminates with the laminate a little heavier but I don't think its 8 lbs. They make them for centerfeed now. At under $100 they come as drop ins and you can have it checkered for an extra $50. the checkering is very nice and there are two styles. Their classic stock is nice also designed by John Sundra.

El Lobo.

srice425
12-12-2012, 01:33 AM