PDA

View Full Version : Hand-loads stickie for Axis users?

thermaler
12-11-2012, 11:38 AM
I've noticed that most forums have "sticky" threads with very useful information such as reload gear. Since I'm just starting out on the reload path--I was wondering if it wouldn't make sense to have a reload resource for Axis users--I know that I've seen some postings from Frank on custom loads that work well for him. I know every rifle is different--but the same rifle and caliber is a good place to start. What sayeth the collective?

thermaler
12-11-2012, 02:24 PM
If you have never reloaded before READ PUBLISHED MANUALS ,not information off the net.
It is important to understand how it works ,and just 1 grain more cane take a safe load into aDANGEROUS ONE.

Agree 100%--I will only do a gradual work-up from tested, listed and published load tables. But even among the tables--given all the combos of powders, bullets etc. there are some which will likely tend to work better out of the Axis sporter barrels than others--so I'm interested in what others have found to be good combo's for them. I have found this to be a common and useful exchange of information on many firearms forums.

thermaler
12-11-2012, 03:45 PM
Usually shooters , reloaders ,will pick a powder that is suitable for the widest range of their inventory. If they have a 308 and a 223 and say a 260 ,they might pick varget ,if they had a few mags and a 308 the powder would be slower say 4350 . All to many times theyll choose a powder that a compromise , not the best for either ,but able to be used safely in each.
I never give loads,or let anyone ever shoot my reloads. Also I will never shoot any one elses reloads , THIS IS LAW.
Even with the insurance I have its just to easy for someone to point the finger.
Gary