PDA

View Full Version : New with a Savage 110 30-06.

King_Ice_Flash
11-04-2012, 06:40 PM
Hi, I'm new to long range shooting, but since they just opened up a 600M range by my house, I picked up a Savage 110 with the flat receiver in 30-06 and the synthetic stock. It has a simmons 3-9 scope on it, which is shockingly clear for a $40 optic, but I have no way to do holdover or turret adjustments. I am looking at a vortex 6-24 viper PST and a EGW 20MOA base. I'm still not sure what rings, but the Burris XTR look pretty decent.

Sometime in the future, I am looking at having a barrel threaded for a PWS PRC, but it looks like the factory barrel would have to be cut back pretty far to be thick enough. I was looking at a McGowen barrel, but I am not sure what contour, crown or length I should get. Most of the shooting I do will be from a bipod, but I will probably shoot a bit standing too.

Also, is there any reason I should replace the stock, or just use something like the Kydex cheek riser?

JCalhoun
11-10-2012, 03:36 PM
Is your rifle fitted with a sporter barrel or a heavy barrel? I will say your choice for base, rings, and scope are good. I would also look into getting a varmint stock with cheek piece and good trigger. The Caldwell Rock front rest is a good buy.

If you don't have a heavy barrel get one. If you hand load a .260 Rem or 6.5X55 Swedish is fine for shooting 600 and the long action will allow you more room for longer bullets. If you are stuck with buying factory ammo a .308W is a better route. A .308W can be hand loaded to very good accuracy at 600 also.

King_Ice_Flash
11-10-2012, 06:40 PM