PDA

View Full Version : Model 10FP Barrel Condition

uswaldronz
10-08-2012, 08:17 PM
Well hello. I am new to this great site and there is a ton of great information. Definitely interesting reading and I have a lot to learn...

I recently picked up a 10FP used. Shoots OK, nothing fantastic compared to my buddies FCP-K of which I could get a 0.29" 3 shot group at 100yards. The best I have done with mine is about a .54" group.

I had spent some time testing some different factory ammo and was OK with where I was at regarding groups. I put some Brown Wolf SP through it just to see where it landed compared just in case the occasion arrived should I need it. It put an OK group (much better than I was anticipating for 140gr ammo) and went back to my Federal GMM 175gr. It started flinging them all over out to about 1.75". I took a look at the barrel and found it looked like crap at the muzzle and just figured it to be these Wolf lacquered rounds and decided to go clean.

I needed to get some copper removal solution and picked up some Butch's Bore Shine. It removed the copper fouling but I am left with this residue in the barrel. I can't post pictures yet but is quite dark looking while the rest of the barrel looking from the breech is very shiny.

I have some Tubbs Final Finish loaded ammunition on the way to see if this could help condition the bore to get rid of this. As always there are reviews for and against but I figured it can't hurt at this point.

Any thoughts? Am I over reacting?

Thanks,

Matthew

rattfink
10-08-2012, 08:22 PM
Is your friends rifle bedded? Have other mods?
And man.....54" groups. Most (If not all) manufacturers would be thrilled if all of their rifles could do that when they're brand new!

darkker
10-08-2012, 08:28 PM
YES, you are over thinking this. When you shoot groups that tight... Don't start shooting sand-paper lined bullets down the barrel. And stop shooting Yellow Duck ammo for groups, That is plinking ammo.