PDA

View Full Version : Measuring bullets..... Splitting hairs?

Pages : [1] 2

oneshot57
09-12-2012, 07:56 PM
I have read about some people that want to make the most accurate hand loads measure thier bullets.
How many of you do that? I tried it to see how it would turn out. I purchased a box of 100 Sierra .277 135 gr. SMK and I measured them using a comparitor on the ogive. This is how it turned out:

0.639 = 18
0.636 = 13
0.635 = 15
0.634 = 64

Do you think the difference in lenght would really make a difference in grouping out to say 400 yds?
Do you think this is a big waste of time? I have never done this before and am wanting to get the best results.

Thanks,
Mike

Luckus
09-13-2012, 09:20 AM
Different bullet lengths at ogive will give you different seating depths. If you seat bullets to give you an exact distance to lands or jam into the lands, if the bullets are not the same length you will get variances. These differences can and will show up on target. I'm not sure a difference of .001 will show at 300-400 yards. The only way to find out is load em up and shoot them. When I was using the .308 Win in my 12 FTR the lengths of 168 and 175 SMK's, and 168 Hornady BTHP would vary as much as .012. Some boxes had 3 sorts. I use the 105 Hornady Amax in my Dasher and they have been extremely consistant and I check the OAL and adjust my Forster Mic seater as I load them. I have buddies who use Bergers and say they don't have to measure them. This issue has been cussed and discussed many times on many forums. I believe in a rifle used for match shooting it is good to do. As always other opinions may vary. Luckus

wbm
09-13-2012, 09:50 AM
How consistent do you guys find the Amax in general

Better than the Sierras but not quite as good as any of the Norma Golden target bullets I have loaded.

WuzYoungOnceToo
09-13-2012, 09:50 AM