PDA

View Full Version : Question about Bedding the recoil lug area?

jonrobinson
12-02-2009, 04:01 PM
It seems that most everyone here, including the "Bedding 101 article", recommend only beading the
back of the recoil lug.

Why? Not trying to be difficult, just trying to understand.

It seems if you bedded the whole thing the action would fit tighter.
Everyone here seems to highly respect the 6mmbr.com bedding article, and he does the whole lug.

Thanks for the help! This is my first time to bed and first Savage.

Jonrobinson

groupshooter22
12-02-2009, 05:00 PM
I think the majority of it is that it is easier to put the barreled action back into the stock. That being said I dont tape off the lug because its a pita to tape, I break the edges on the lug so it wont shave the bedding.

xhogboss
12-02-2009, 05:56 PM
I went back and reviewed the 6mmbr article on bedding - photo 2 shows masking tape on the sides and bottom of the lug, and in the second paragraph on Step Four, it says not to bed the front or sides of the lug.

I think the reason is two-fold; 1) it's easier to remove and replace the bedded action later with some clearance on the sides and front of the lug, and 2) bedding the front and sides doesn't really do anything. The contour of the action and the action bolts/pillars position the action in the stock laterally, and the rear of the lug is the primary surface where the recoil of the action is transferred to the stock.

I've done it both ways. I know initial removal takes about the same effort, and reinstallation is easier when I've taped the sides/bottom of the lug. All have shown improvement after bedding. Would it hurt to bed the lug on all sides? Good question, and I dont' think it would.

jonrobinson
12-02-2009, 06:00 PM
Thanks for all of the replies! My factory wood stock has a huge trough for the recoil lug AND all of the free space is in front (toward muzzle).

Eric in NC
12-02-2009, 06:21 PM