PDA

View Full Version : 110 Savage 7mm mag Inaccurate

Pages : [1] 2

Jimhoodag
03-18-2012, 01:39 PM
My Savage 110 7 mm mag will not shoot less than a 2.5 inch group at 100 yards. What can I do to fix it? I bought the gun used and the seller said it has only had a few boxes run through it. I cleaned the copper out and broke it in with a couple of boxes of factory rounds. I killed a deer with it at 296 yards with a Hornady 139 g BTSP. Since then I started shooting Berger 168 VLD's through it, but it will only group them at two inches. Now it will not group less than three inches, six at 200, seven at 300 and not on paper at 400. I have tried three factory brands, Hornady 139's and 162's and Berger 168 VLD's in many different lengths.

I have cleaned every way possible. I think it is the crown or a bad spot where the brush catches midway down the barrel. If I bought a 6.5 x .284 barrel, what would I need to make it work on this gun?

My Savage Axis .243 will shoot six inch groups at 500 yards, so I don't think it is me.

Jim

Dennis
03-18-2012, 01:58 PM
A lot of 7mm questions coming up lately . . . supposed to be one of the most accurate rounds out there!

geargrinder
03-18-2012, 03:45 PM
You might be cleaning too much. Let it get good and dirty, then shoot some groups.

My old 300win took at least 20 rounds before the groups would settle in.

Have you checked everything else? Scope mounting? Action screws? Scope itself?

Jimhoodag
03-18-2012, 05:53 PM
You might be cleaning too much. Let it get good and dirty, then shoot some groups.

My old 300win took at least 20 rounds before the groups would settle in.

Have you checked everything else? Scope mounting? Action screws? Scope itself?

Thanks. I tried letting it get dirty with over 30 rounds. I tried to move scope but did not notice it being loose, but don't know how to check it further. I put a new Nikon prostaff 3 x 9 x 50 on it to see if it was accurate before putting a good scope on it.

rjtfroggy