PDA

View Full Version : need a little help and info fellas

champ198
02-28-2012, 10:14 AM
i have a savage model 12 heavy contour barrel in 22-250
I'm kind of getting the hankering for shooting some long range stuff. now I'm new at this and am talkin rages out to 700 or so at first but I would like to stretch this thing out to a grand. I know that with my short action a 308 caliber is probably going to be my best bet on caliber to go with. what I was wondering is when looking for parts like bolt knob,stock and barrel to go with. I'm still really new to the savage guns but so far I'm really liking mine a lot. so I thought I would as you all if you were going to builds rifle for shooting a grand off of this rifle platform what parts would you put in brands calibers and so on. also know I'm gonna need a stock as well but I think that will be easy to find, some of the other parts is what I'm a little fuzzy on right now as to what model savages have the same parts as my model 12 does
any help you all can give a newb will help a ton

champ198
02-28-2012, 10:16 AM
also forgot to put I would like a heavy ontour barrel in at least 24" length

keeki
02-28-2012, 10:53 AM
personally I would think that at 1000yds a 308 would be about the worst choice. Lots of bullets in 7mm, 6.5 and 6mm that do great at 1000yds out of a short action.

bajabill
02-28-2012, 11:07 AM
I am not being a smartass, to dont take it that way. All you NEED is a target 1000 yards away. Your 22-250 will reach it. Now, it may not be the ideal chambering so that may be the place you are currently in. I think the potential issue with long range is the wind, without it all you need is a drop chart and shoot high :).