PDA

View Full Version : 375 barrel in accustock

Ron.D
02-09-2012, 06:34 PM
I'd like to build a 375 cast bullet gun. I'm new at this and since what I want doesn't exist over the counter, it's been suggested that Savage may be my easiest route. I,m wondering if I start with a 30-06 or 300 Win mag and get a 375-06 imp or 375 H&H barrel, will I have to widen the channel in the accustock, since the barrel will have a larger O.D. This and any other info you could impart on a Savage newbie would be appreciated. Ron.D

Eric in NC
02-09-2012, 08:08 PM
If you get a gun with a sporter weight barrel you most likely will need to widen the channel (not a big deal with a wooden stock and still pretty easy with a synthetic - just wrap sandpaper around the right size deep well socket and...). If you get the 300 Win mag it will have a heavier barrel and the channel would probably work but then you will have to change the bolt head too.

I have a 375-06AI barrel from PacNor on a 1917 that is great with cast and jacketed bullets - great cartridge.

Also have a factory 116 in 375 H&H - great gun but the bigger case isn't as friendly with cast loads (unless you were wanting to use black powder!).

Why are you going with 375 for the cast bullets instead of 40 or 458?

Ron.D
02-09-2012, 08:53 PM
I appreciate the reply Eric. I'd like the BC of .375 while maintaining something heavy hitting. I have a 444 and a 45-70, also a .358 Win and a 375 something should round out the stable. I'm a cast convert as you could tell. I chat with a lot of folks that think think the 375 H&H is perfect for cast and get 300 grs. up over 2200'/s The reason I want something custom is to get a cast friendly slower twist. My idea is a Krieger barrel with .005 grooves and a 14-16 twist. It should handle anything up to 270 grs. Thanks for the info on widening the channel, it would be a plastic accustock, sounds like even I could manage it. Ron.D

Eric in NC
02-09-2012, 09:24 PM