PDA

View Full Version : Dies for .308

sliderspal
01-31-2012, 11:06 AM
I am new to reloading and I am trying to decide which dies set I need for reloading of my .308 brass that I am shooting through my Savage 10 FCP-K. I have been told that I only have to size the neck of the brass and then I have been told I need a full length die for sizing and then I have been told to get a small base die as I also have a Armalite AR10 that I will be reloading for.
Also should I just go with a taper crimp die no matter which sizing die I choose?
Thanks

12fv 308
01-31-2012, 11:54 AM
I have the Lee Deluxe die set. it comes with the neck sizer, full length sizer and seating die. when the brass is new or starts to stick in the action I full length size. after that and fire the round it is called fire formed. this makes the brass match your barrel. then you can neck size. I neck size brass 5 or 6 times before I have to full length size. I dont crimp for my bolt gun, but in a Ar I would buy a crimp die and full length size all the time. Once you fire form brass only use it in that rifle..
Pete

dacaur
01-31-2012, 11:57 PM
If you fire the brass in a bolt action, you can neck size if you are going to fire it again in the same bolt gun.
If you want to fire it in your AR-10, you must full length resize. There are always exceptions, some people are able to get away with a firing or two in an autoloader with only neck sizing, but eventualy it will cause reliability problems in an autoloader.... The big problem is when a round doesnt fully chamber and you have a slamfire.... not worth the risk IMO.... Always full length resize for any autoloader...

For your situation, I would recommend the lee pacesetter set, it comes with a full length size die, bullet seater, and the factory crimp die.

bootsmcguire
02-01-2012, 01:44 AM
I say both 12fv 308 and dacaur are right about what kind of sizing for each gun.