PDA

View Full Version : The Ubber 338 cartridge

handirifle
01-12-2012, 02:04 AM
Was watching the last few minutes of a show I had never seen before, The Pig Man, and he was another long range hunter, but mentioned he is a gun maker by trade. I have no idea who he was, but WHAT he was shooting caught my ear. He said it was a rifle and cartridge he had designed, and the cartridge was based on the 505 Jeffry, necked down to 338. I thought OK there's a bunch of 338 Ubber rounds out there, until he said it loosed a 250bullet at about 3400fps :o.

Wow! Looking at some of the rounds folks have mentioned here, that sucker really flies. I also noticed he must have one heck of a dandy muzzle break, cause when he fired it, you would have thought he was shooting a 243.

Anyone ever heard of the cartridge and what's it called?

GaCop
01-12-2012, 05:28 AM
Nope, that's a new one one me. Talk about hand held artillery!

TORCHRIDER
01-12-2012, 09:23 AM
Barrel life = 50 rounds. ;D

Jamie
01-12-2012, 11:23 AM
A guy I work with had one of those and had a .375 off of it as well. I am not sure they have a name other than "a 505 necked down to .338".

nuclabuyer
01-12-2012, 12:52 PM
I am fairly sure what you are talking about is a 338 allen mag, it is off a moded 408 cheytac case which came from a 400 taylor which is from a 505. I guess that would make the 338 allen mag and the 505 like 3rd cousins. I was going to get my 338 edge chambered it this, I dont even have my edge yet and I am already kicking myself for not going with the allen mag

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f95/338-allen-magnum-wow-41487/index2.html

Here is his website
http://www.apsrifles.com/Allen_Magnum_Wildcats.html

handirifle
01-12-2012, 01:46 PM