PDA

View Full Version : OCW Analysis Help and Intro

albinomonki
12-17-2011, 11:33 PM
Greetings community,

I've been a lurker for a few months now. Haven't had too much to contribute beyond the wealth of knowledge already here. However, today I went out and performed, what I’ll call my take on, an OCW method test. This time I got some interesting results I think. I decided instead of trying to interpret it myself, which does not always seem to work out perfectly, I would pool the vast resources of this forum and ask for any and all opinions and advice you can offer.

I put “intro” in the subject as this is my first post here so a bit about me: Grew up in MA shooting BB guns. I am now a PA resident and can finally fully enjoy owning and shooting firearms. In the last year I started reloading and shooting IDPA and am now chasing bugholes with my .223--- my white buffalo, but I certainly enjoy pulling my hair out, kicking myself, chasing the unobtainable, and an endless challenge. What could be more entertaining?

In order to keep this post manageable I’ll save you all some reading and get to my question. If you need more info about rifle, loading techniques, etc, I’ve included it at the end of this post. Without further adieu… My testing procedure: I loaded (10) 3-rnd groups, increasing powder charge by 0.2grns between each group. Feeling adventurous because my COL is so much greater than the book value, I started at a medium charge according to Lyman and Hornady so that I could hit the Lyman accurate load, which is also their max charge weight.