PDA

View Full Version : Barrel replacement kits.

Will-Seattle
11-18-2009, 01:54 PM
Does anyone have any experience with the barrel kits that are available through Brownell's. There is a sporter barrel, barrel wrench, and Go/No Go gauges in the kit for about $200. Does anyone know who makes the barrels? Any bad reviews that the wrench, gauges, etc...?

I am fairly new to Savage rifles. I must admit that I looked down on them for years because of the barrel nut. Now that I have done some reading on the whole set up of their barrels, it becomes evident that Savage has a very good system.

I recently bought one the Choate stocked 308 rifles from Cabela's. I love that rifle. Even as a very inexperienced reloader, using Winchester brass, Federal Match primers, SMK 175, and IMR 4064, it was easy to get 1/2 inch groups with this rifle.

I was wanting to pick up a sporter barrel 'just in case' I want to try something different.

Any info on these kits would be greatly appreciated.

Will

Galveston22
11-18-2009, 03:08 PM
Pay $12 for access to the classifieds and you can get a sporter barrel here for alot cheaper than that.

Corprin
11-18-2009, 05:08 PM
Pay $12 for access to the classifieds and you can get a sporter barrel here for alot cheaper than that.

+1

I have seen sporter take-offs sell for as little as $35 in the classifieds.

jpdown
11-18-2009, 07:30 PM