PDA

View Full Version : tricking out an older 110

mtnsmith
11-18-2009, 01:49 AM
Hi I am new to this forum.. I would like to start out by asking a question..I have an older model 110 that I would like to change out the barrel to a heavier profile, as well as changing out the stock and trigger... My question is since I have never worked on a savage rifle before what do I need to do to pop off the barrel and install a new one? I am probably going to go with a short chambered Shilen.. Do I need any special barrel vises, wrenches, ect? Thanks ya'll for any help..

mtnsmith....................

cowboyarcher
11-18-2009, 01:57 AM
I use an action wrench and a barrel nut wrench, but many get by using barrel block in place of the action wrench. You'll also need correct headspace gauges.

I got my tools from Midway, but others have them as well.

Adam

GaCop
11-18-2009, 05:19 AM
With so many choices for prefit barrels, why go with short chambered?

BrentWin
11-18-2009, 08:37 AM
Mtnsmith,

Welcome to the sight

You don't need to go short chambered like a Remchester. The Savage platform allows the barrel to be screwed in until the chamber hits the go gauge and then the barrel nut is tightened against the face of the receiver. I effect the nut is an adjustable barrel shoulder.

mtnsmith
11-18-2009, 10:44 AM
WOW!!!! Thanks guys I didn't know that about a Savage.. So I can go with a fully pre-chambered barrel and get my head space by just screwing it on against a go guage and tightening the nut. I am assuming that the bolt should be in the gun and stripped down, right? man that is cool.. Do I need to get a new nut for this project or can I use the existing nut.. Thanks Ya'll

mtnsmith

cowboyarcher
11-18-2009, 11:38 AM
No need to strip the bolt head or a new nut. Just do as you described!

Adam

nhm16
11-18-2009, 06:20 PM