PDA

View Full Version : Basic barrel removal help

mstarling
11-26-2011, 12:16 AM
Guys,

I apologize for the very basic question, but I am new to the issue and have not used the site much. My rifle is a basic barrel nut Savage in .308. A 1:10 twist, 22" heavy sporter Douglas bbl has been swapped in. The rifle has an accu-trigger and sits in a Brownell's synthetic stock. I need to pull the barrel to send it out to be threaded, then reinstall it.

Will someone please point me to a good explanation of the process and tools required to do that job, please.

(A barrel vise and a Mauser action wrench is available, and I can make a new top for the wrench if needed.)

Thank you!

bootsmcguire
11-26-2011, 12:42 AM
Here are a couple of you tube videos explaining the process:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPlFtskCwng

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsM6_J8doIE&feature=related

One is with action held and the other is with barrel held. Should give you an idea.

Hope that helps.

Boots

mstarling
11-26-2011, 12:49 AM
Appreciate the videos but can't see them on a dial-up link. Satellite connection died and we're waiting for the telephone company to get us DSL. Will probably be after the first of the year. Maddening!

mutwagn
11-26-2011, 01:47 AM
http://savageshooters.com/index.php?articleview=Savage Barrel Swapping
HTH
Andy

chakup
11-26-2011, 11:52 AM
You could try posting where you're at and there may be a local to you willing to help and maybe even loan tools to use to do this. It's really pretty simple though.

bootsmcguire
11-26-2011, 02:00 PM
mstarling, sorry bout that, looks like mutwagn found an article here. I knew there was one but couldn't remember where.

http://savageshooters.com/index.php?articleview=Savage Barrel Swapping

Eric in NC
11-26-2011, 02:33 PM