PDA

View Full Version : stock inletting

jraney
11-21-2011, 12:06 AM
i was not real sure where to put this so i figured this place would work best. i have an idea but would like some oppinions.
i will start out by say i do not have alot of money to spend so i would like the most cost effective way to do this. i was thinking
or wondering about semi making my own stock. that is me coming up with the wood and dooing the basic shape i want and then sending it somewhere that can do the entire inletting from the tang to the end of the barrell channel. also i am thinking about making the stock out of some sort of light wood and then reinforcing it with fiberglass. the reason i want to do this myself is cost. i really like a vertiical grip and a few other things that seem to cost alot on most stocks. so if any of you have any ideas that would be great.

J

bbradford71
11-21-2011, 03:34 AM
I am no expert but I would think the cost alone of having someone inlet a stock would cost as much as buying a quality stock. You can get a Bell & Carlson for around $200, high quality for a good price.

jraney
11-21-2011, 03:40 PM
well SSS has it listed for 504 but i may try it myself. i think that a router and some hand tools should do, chisels and such. i know that power tools can take alot of materail real quick but with some practice i think i can do it.

bbradford71
11-21-2011, 04:00 PM
http://www.stockysstocks.com/servlet/the-110/Bell-Carlson-tactical-700/Detail

jraney
11-21-2011, 09:35 PM
i gues i should proofread. i meant 50$ for inletting for a dbm. so if i do everything else i should have what i want for a very good price.

bbradford71
11-21-2011, 09:59 PM
I know a lot of smiths charge an hourly fee to do what you want, the smiths in my area charge between $60-$80 an hour with a one hour minimum. Plus the cost of shipping both ways if you have to send it off.

chemist1
11-21-2011, 10:07 PM