PDA

View Full Version : Resizing? Shoulder Bumping

justinp61
10-23-2011, 11:42 AM
I'm new to rifle reloading and have a question. Reading some of the other posts on resizing I saw mention of shoulder bumping. I understand the principal of it, but how do you determine when it's needed or how much? Do you measure it with a comparator? I have full length resizing RCBS dies and am curious as to how I need to set it up.

Thanks

keeki
10-23-2011, 11:51 AM
Do you mean shoulder bumping? When the cartridge is fired the brass will stretch and after several firings it will become too long to chamber in your gun. When this happens you have to bump the shoulder back or just full length size it.

justinp61
10-23-2011, 12:06 PM
Sorry, yes shoulder bumping.

keeki
10-23-2011, 12:11 PM
If your using full length dies your already bumping the shoulder back. However you can neck size only with full length dies by just backing the die out a little.

justinp61
10-23-2011, 12:42 PM
If your using full length dies your already bumping the shoulder back. However you can neck size only with full length dies by just backing the die out a little.

That I understand, but do I need to adjust it to where it just bumps the shoulder?

Thanks

keeki
10-23-2011, 12:44 PM
not until the brass has stretched to the point that it wont chamber

keeki
10-23-2011, 12:46 PM
you want that cartridge to fit your chamber tight.

82boy
10-23-2011, 12:55 PM