PDA

View Full Version : 243 Headspacing Problem

Pages : [1] 2

Werewolf
10-20-2011, 03:50 PM
I switched my wife's rifle from a 308 barrel to a 243 yesterday. This is my 2nd conversion, the first was a 30-06 to 25-06 that went smooth as silk after I gorilla'd the old barrel off. I bought a forster headspace guage (marked 308,243,7mm-08,etc.) and used it to headspace the barrel initially, but I found that none of my resized brass would chamber. I have been reloading for five years, and I miked the cases and know they are in spec, but no chamber. I ended up making a dummy round and used that to headspace the rig, chambers easy plain, bolt won't shut with a piece of scotch tape on the head, and put it all back together. I know that the headspace is set to brass out of the die that I will load for this gun with, but I am still bothered. Did I do something wrong, or will I run into a problem later? Anyone else had a problem with a multi caliber guage? I need a little voice of experience to calm my fears before I put this gun into my beloved's pretty (undamaged) hands :o.

jinx-)
10-20-2011, 04:12 PM
Scotch tape? I thought its electric tape you should be using if no-go unavailable, also with electric tape one layer should be stiff, but turn-able 2 layers shouldn't close, but with scotch you need to add few layers, who know how many...

Eric in NC
10-20-2011, 05:21 PM
, but I found that none of my resized brass would chamber.

308 sized down to 243? Did you trim it? Check the length of the brass. Doubtfull your gauge is out of spec.

GUNFANATIC
10-20-2011, 05:37 PM
Scotch tape? I thought its electric tape you should be using if no-go unavailable, also with electric tape one layer should be stiff, but turn-able 2 layers shouldn't close, but with scotch you need to add few layers, who know how many...

One piece of scotch tape works perfectly. I headspaced a guys 6mm barrel with a go guage, one piece of scotch tape on the end for the no go. Worked like a charm.

jinx-)