PDA

View Full Version : Left hand options

jmg8550
11-12-2009, 01:04 AM
I am new to bolt action rifles, and have decided to get a .308 Savage. I would like to know from you experienced Savage guys what options are possible for a left hand model.

I would like these features:
-20" medium or heavy barrel
-accu-trigger
-accu-stock
-left handed
-no muzzle brake
-detachable mag
-camo pattern(not digital) mossy oak or winter pattern

Is this combination possible from the factory? If not, how would I go about getting the rifle set-up this way.
Also, I know this is a longshot, but is there anyone who could convert the rifle to accept an M1A type mag?
Please forgive my ignorance.
And mods, I seem to have posted this in the wrong section, could you please move it to the appropriate one.

Peter_Kirch
11-12-2009, 01:58 AM
With your specs looks like you got a choice between a Model 12 VLP left handed and a 12 FLV. If you wanted to build one then you have tons of options.... Us leftys just dont have a huge market segment. Acutally they arnt chambered in .308. to get exactly what you want take the jump and BUILD IT. Lots of great guys here will help you out.

Talk to Jim Briggs here he is know as Northlander GREAT prices

geargrinder
11-12-2009, 02:01 AM
VLP is wood stock. FLV doesn't come in 308. Neither are DBM.

They're discriminating against us lefties. ;D

Peter_Kirch
11-12-2009, 02:11 AM
ahhh yes sorry its late. let me explain... there is no factory rifle that you will get your exact setup. I decided to build one... actually I just bought a Model 16 LH action from a guy on this site. for .308 you will want to look for an action with a bolt head size of .473. The .308 shares the same bolt head with a 22-250. It can be long but unless you are upgrading to say a .30-06 later(not sure why you would) i would get a short.