PDA

View Full Version : New Here!

thejetman
10-19-2011, 01:12 PM
Just wanted to introduce myself here. I am the proud new owner of a slightly used Savage 111 GCNS 30-06. Accutrigger. One year old, traded a metal detector straight up for it.
Had this weapon for a week now and came accross this website, so here I am lol. This is the only second bolt action rifle I own, I also have a Rem 788 in .308. I have not got to shoot the 111 yet, but was wondering what I could expect from it. I am not a pro by any means, just your regular weekend shooter.
Thanks everyone in advance!

ellobo
10-19-2011, 02:32 PM
Welcome to the brotherhood of the barrel nut. Conrats on getting a good one. Just make sure the barrel and tang are free floated. tighten all screws especialy the receiver mouting screws to 35-40 inch lbs and clean the barrel, especially use copper cleaner. Savage barels will copper up until they have a lot of shots smoothing out the barrel. Expect great accuracy from this rifle if all is set up properly.
Good luck

El Lobo

GaCop
10-20-2011, 05:49 AM
+1 on ellobo's advice. Your 788 is an interesting collector's item that is accurate in it's own right. To add; fire the 111 first to see how accurate it is with various brands of ammunition or, if you handload, try a few of the book "accuracy loads" to see which is better. Glass bedding never does any harm when done right and could improve accuracy too.

The great thing about the Savage/Stevens is the ability of the owner to make changes and improvements w/o having to spend a fortune at the gunsmith's.

Your going to love it here. There's a wealth of knowledge and members are more than happy to help when you have a problem. There are a number of good technical articles on the forum but you must be a paid member to access them. It's the best 12/year you'll ever spend and it lets you access the classifieds too.

jim36
10-20-2011, 09:30 AM