PDA

View Full Version : So I've got this 10FP...

Trebor Snave
10-18-2011, 01:14 PM
Rookie here, bear with me. Interesting reading on this forum!

A few years ago I started shooting F-TR, using Army weapons and ammo (hey, the National Guard has shooting teams; who knew?) and I enjoyed it. I did pretty well using an old M24 and M118LR, but I much prefer to own my competition guns so I started looking around at what was available. Fortunately for me (not so much for him), an acquaintance was going through a divorce and was selling his 10FP. I'd been looking at the Savage 10FCP McMillan but the FP was in my budget... with less than 200 rounds down the tube according to the owner. Call it 200 to be on the safe side. It's a stagger feed, accutrigger model.

It came with a Ken Farrel 10 MOA base and rings so I put a Burris 3200 10X on it. I didn't care for how I could flex the forearm over to touch the barrel, so the stock came off and I ordered a Choate "Ultimate Varmint" from CombatStocks. The old bipod I had didn't really fit well on the Choate, but it worked.

What with one thing and another, I was only able to get a rough zero on the rifle before the first local match came around. I put the published data from my ammo into a ballistic calculator and got a rough come-up for 800 yards, and it worked just fine; but my scores were down from the M24. Turned out the bipod had come loose on the stock and was sliding around in the rail, so I tightened it down, shrugged and drove on.