PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about Savage Sporters

jb177
11-09-2009, 12:06 AM
I need to get another "deer" rifle for my dad. Probably going with a standard 270 in sporter configuration. I know how good savage varmint rifles shoot, I load for 5 of them currently. But I have no experience with their sporter long-action rifles. To be honest, I've never even handled one.

Do the weather warrior series have the same type of accuracy as the varmint rifles? I'm just looking for MOA with handloads without having to spend extra $$ on trigger jobs, etc. like I would with most other brands. I'm a HUGE savage fan and that's all I've bought in last few years.

Anyhow, if anybody has some input, I'd appreciate it. Most of what I've read has about varmint type calibers or varmint rifles.

hank440
11-09-2009, 12:50 AM
I have a model 16 heavy sporter barrel in .260 that shoots about 1/2 MOA @100 yards with handloads no problem so have confidence it will definitley shoot less than 1 MOA

Three44s
11-09-2009, 01:00 AM
I'm pretty new to them myself but my wife and I own LA's in 7mm Rem and I don't think your accuracy stated requirement will be very challenging to achieve.

But it also struck me ......... what about a 260 barrel on one of your short actions for the duration of deer season ....... would that be advisable? Not that I oppose to .270 ...... own one in another brand and love them as well.

Just thinking out loud

Three 44s

jpdown
11-09-2009, 01:58 AM
I believe the 116 Weather Warrior now comes with the Accustock. You should be able to easily get MOA accuracy with 270 handloads and the 22" sporter barrel. Switch out Accutrigger spring to the lighter varmint trigger spring from SSS and you should be able to adjust pull weight down to 2.5 to 2.0 lbs. Plus you'll have lots of switch barrel options if your dad decides he wants something different.