PDA

View Full Version : Convert stagger feed to center feed

Canche41
08-29-2011, 10:25 PM
I am new to the Savage forum and I am interested in getting a savage 110 with a stagger feed magazine. I tried to find an answer to my question on here but couldn't find anything. I didn't know if it was possible to convert the stagger feed to a DBM center feed or not. I'm not opposed to doing work to it, I just didn't know if it's possible. Thanks in advance for all the advice.

csam
08-29-2011, 10:47 PM
Why do you want to do it?

I am not sure if there are significant differences in the receiver, but it seems like if you remove the staggerfeed box from the receiver, and mount it in a centerfeed stock, it should work. I hope someone will answer that knows, as I am just guessing.

Again, why, personally I have both, and see no real advantage. My staggerfeed is a long action 300wm, and the centerfeed is a 308 win. I have never had a hint of feeding issues with either one. You do lose capacity on a centerfeed.

If I recall correctly, the centerfeed was a cost cutting measure and also to get the WSM cartridges to feed better.

geargrinder
08-29-2011, 11:32 PM
It would take about 5 minutes with a dremel. All you need to do is round out the rear of the magazine port to make room for the magazine keeper. It's very obvious if you have a centerfeed stock with the DBM already in it.

Here's a picture of a stagger action in a centerfeed DBM stock. I circled the area that need attention.

http://i234.photobucket.com/albums/ee269/geargrinder123/S8001244-1.jpg

BoilerUP
08-30-2011, 06:26 AM
CDI Precision makes 4.27" DBM bottom metal that uses AICS-pattern magazines...

Canche41
08-30-2011, 11:57 PM