PDA

View Full Version : Model 12 VLP .243, Do I have a so so gun?

BowElkStalker
08-24-2011, 06:19 PM
I just can't seem to get this gun to shoot well. Winchester power point 100gn will shoot about 1 moa and have tried 65 up to 105 in my handloads. Now I am new to reloading but I can get my Tikka 270wsm to print .5 moa or better all day long. I just switch out the scope thinking that it might be the problem but again this morning I shot factory winchester and was just over 1 moa with the two three shot groups. Not sure if I should sell it and move on or take it to a smith. Love the gun but not what I was hoping for with the accuracy.

skoger
08-24-2011, 07:17 PM
How many rounds? My buddys didnt start to shoot till about 150 rds, hovered 1moa, better or worse, now it will do1/2 moa, same bullets, can of powder, just got broke in and is getting better all the time.

BowElkStalker
08-24-2011, 07:24 PM
I bet I am approaching 200rds?

josebd
08-24-2011, 07:49 PM
reloads here,right at 3/8 inch group 100 yards.

Slowpoke Slim
08-24-2011, 08:13 PM
You might also have to play with your bench technique, and not just play with the loads. I've had a couple of rifles that would change group size significantly if you changed your "hold" in the bags. One in particular I had to rest my off hand on top of the scope, instead of holding the stock. Some may like to be "free recoiled", and some want to be held down firmly both fore and aft.

Have you checked your bedding, and your action screw tension? Is the tang area floated? Try moderate to firm tension on the front action screw, and very little, but just snug tension on the rear action screw and see if the group size changes. If you watch the barreled action in the stock as you loosen either one or both action screws, do you see it "jump" in the stock?