PDA

View Full Version : need help customizing my savage 16 FLHSS 300WSM

Pages : [1] 2

rusty815
08-17-2011, 02:29 AM
hi everyone, i just recently bought a savage 16 lefty rifle, i have been using a right handed ruger 270 winchester for about 10 years and i just got tired of having to take the rifle down everytime i wanted to load a new bullet.

there are a few things id like to add to the savage, not that it already isnt a great rifle (i wouldnt buy anything that wasnt great quality)

1. id like to add a bipod, dont need anything expensive like a harris, just something that works, i already have a few in mind but would like to get some suggestions from other savage owners :)

2. this is probably the biggest customization i had in mind, but i was wondering if i could modify the flhss to be an flcss, that is, that i can make it from a hinge door bullet extractor to a box magazine rifle.

also would like to hear some of your experiences with savage model 16's and 116's , i would like to know what im in for :)

i also want to know what accessories would be great to add to the rifle, i already have an extra bushnell and weatherby scope to put on it, but anything cool add-ons that i could add to the rifle would be great.

rinodods
08-17-2011, 02:44 AM
Look at the caldwell XLA bipods is you don't want to spring for a harris. They might not be as well built as the harris but you can get them with the pivot just like the harris.

rusty815
08-17-2011, 02:50 AM
thanks rinodods for the suggestion, the caldwell bipods look very good, ill definitely keep those in mind when i purchase a bipod, any other suggestions for addons to my savage?

bootsmcguire
08-17-2011, 08:26 PM
As far as bipods go this is one of the ones I use while hunting. Mine is the 6-9" model and this link is for the shorter one. Couldn't find mine on a quick search but I am sure its there somewhere.

http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/BIPOD200-1.html