PDA

View Full Version : Neck Turning Steps

GaCop
11-05-2009, 07:15 AM
Just ordered the K&M setup from Precision Reloading. I'm new to neck turning. Should I collet size prior to running the case into the expander die? Checking my necks on an RCBS CaseMaster, they seemed to be only a few thousands different around the neck.

outlawkyote
11-05-2009, 09:41 AM
Idealy, you would want to use a FL sizer and then use an expanding mandrel to expand the neck to the right size to fit the neck turning mandrel. Usually the expanding mandrel is only .0005 larger than the turning mandrel.

BillPa
11-05-2009, 10:03 AM
You'll want the neck larger, maybe .001" at mostover the turning mandrel diameter which generally requires expanding them to the correct ID. The fit must allow the case to turn, but without being sloppy loose if you want reasonably concentric necks. Too loose and you'll have variations in the wall thickness, too tight, its tough rotating them and the mandrel may heat up and change dimensions. It all depends how accurate you want them.

When I use a hand turner I'll size the necks with a FL or bushing die then use an expander to open them the correct ID for the turning mandrel. That pushes the thicker portion of the brass to the outside of the neck to be turned off.

For lubricant I still use the old 50/50 mixture of Mobil 1 and STP applied to the inside of the neck with a Q-Tip Yeah, its somewhat messy, but its slippy and easily cleaned off with lacquer thinner or denatured alcohol.

Another suggestion. Depending how much you need to remove, make multiple cuts instead of one. For example, if the necks are .017" and your turning them to .012", first take maybe two .002"cuts then a final .001". Even if I'm turning them in my lathe I'll make multiple passes.