PDA

View Full Version : First Build and It's a Shooter!! thanks for all your help on this site

Pages : [1] 2

teebirdhyzer
07-23-2011, 09:41 PM
My story with savage started exactly one year ago when i ordered a 93r17 just because I thought the .17hmr was a cool round and the Savage was a good bargain. I had never shot a rifle with a "good" trigger and after getting used to the accutrigger was immediatley surprised at the little groups I could shoot with it compared to the other rifles I own. Over the next couple of months I added a mark II in .17hm2, a model 25 lightweight classic in .223, and a plain jane model 110 in .270 to replace my Ruger Mark II .270 deer rifle. All of these guns shoot well, but I never could get the .270 to shoot exactly like I thought it could, or like alot of the guns on here will shoot. After just a few shots it would get really hot and not group at all. After much reading and studying on this site...(and keep in mind I am an absolute and complete amateur and have never even changed out the stock on a gun prior to this build) I decided to try my hand at a custom project. I really wanted to keep the rifle a hunting rifle, but also be able shoot good groups and maybe some pretty long range while keeping a wood classic style look. I also borrowed some handloading equip and loaded up some rounds which I tried out today, (also my first try at handloading). Here is what I have done to the rifle, and below are some pics of it and the .295" group I shot today. Big thanks to everyone on this site that are always eager to help with questions and problems. No way possible that I would have ever thought about trying anything like this without this website!!

Started life as a Stock model 110 in .270 with a wood stock and blind magazine.

Purchased a mag conversion kit from SSS to change the blind mag to a detachable box mag.