PDA

View Full Version : Installing a new stock, need a little help.

Leon
06-15-2011, 10:07 AM
I am planning to buy a new Ross Featherweight Thumbhole stock for a .243win build I am working on and I need a little clarification.

I know (at least I think) I need the following :

Stock
Acra-glass epoxy kit
Bedding Pillars
Aftermarket recoil lug (any particular one considered best???)

Now...the questions

1. I notice there are long pillars,short pillars, and combo pillar sets. Which one should I be buying for this? - My understanding is that for best results I should be glass bedding the action,stock and recoil lug and free floating the barrel.

2. Is there a particular recoil lug that is considered superior to others?

3. Am I missing anything else??

4. I am going from factory wood to the laminate stock, so I shouldn't need any new screws, right?

This is my first time trying this and I am trying to build it into a Varmint/Deer combo rifle (it eventually will probably become a strict varmint gun with heavy barrel - but that is for another time)

Any help here would be appreciated, as well as any tips since this is my first time doing this. I will be ordering the stuff for the switch shortly but I just want to make sure I have everything I need and that I understand this correctly before I spend the money.

Thanks guys

sew0177
06-15-2011, 10:47 AM
I assume you have the original recoil lug. If you bed the stock and make sure you relieve some stock material at the backside of the lug recess you should not have to buy a new lug. The bedding material will compensate for any ... non-squareness ... of the lug.

tinkerer
06-15-2011, 04:26 PM
I am planning to buy a new Ross Featherweight Thumbhole stock for a .243win build I am working on and I need a little clarification.

I know (at least I think) I need the following :